Awards & Grants

Constance McCullough Award

The Constance McCullough Award, which carries a monetary prize of US$4,000, is awarded annually to assist a member of the International Literacy Association in the investigation of reading-related problems and to encourage international professional development activities that are carried out in countries outside North America. This award represents a specific means for working toward as many as three articulated ILA goals: advocacy, professional development, and emerging global issues.

Deadline: June 30


Recent recipients


Dr. Jennifer Manak
Project Country: Nicaragua
Project Name: "Supporting Literacy Education in Nicaragua Through Teacher Professional Development"


Dr. Theresa Deeney
Project Country: Kenya
Project Name: "Enhancing the Power of Literacy—Teacher Professional Development in Kenya"


Dr. Kassotaki-Psaroudaki Popi
Project Country: Greece
Project Name: "Early Literacy Teacher's Professional Development for Integrating ICT's With Other More Traditional Practices in Vocabulary Teaching"


Carla Raynor
Project Country: Bhutan
Project Name: "Intergenerational Learning With Families at the Core"


Jackson Mukasa Kizza
Project Country: Uganda
Project Name: "Empowering the Ugandan Child Through Reading"

For additional information, contact