Attention: The ILA website and all online, email, and telephone member service functions will be down for a major technology upgrade on Monday, October 15, 2018. There may also be intermittent service a few days before or after this date. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. We look forward to providing you with a significantly improved web and member experience as soon as we have completed our upgrade. Thank you.

Awards & Grants

ILA Jerry Johns Outstanding Teacher Educator in Reading Award

The International Literacy Association (ILA) Jerry Johns Outstanding Teacher Educator in Reading Award is a US$1,000 award honoring an outstanding college or university teacher of reading methods or reading-related courses. Applicants must be ILA members.

Sponsored by Jerry Johns

Deadline: March 15, 2019


We are currently updating the materials for this award/grant. For more details, please email

Recent recipients


Sharon Walpole

Sharon Walpole, School of Education, University of Delaware, Newark



Peggy Semingson


Lori Helman


Theresa A. Deeney


Patricia Edwards

For additional information, contact