Awards & Grants

ILA Maryann Manning Special Service Award

The International Literacy Association (ILA) Maryann Manning Special Service Award is a nonmonetary award given annually to an individual who has demonstrated a lifelong commitment of exceptional and distinguished service to the field of literacy. ILA members apply or are nominated by peers for this award.

Open: September 15, 2018

Deadline: March 15, 2019

We are currently updating the materials for this award/grant. For more details, please email

Recent recipients


Diane Barone

Diane Barone, College of Education, University of Nevada, Reno



ILA Special Service Award: Carmelita Williams


ILA Special Service Award: Lesley M. Morrow


Betty H. Yarborough
Betty Dean Newman
Carol S. Owles

ILA Special Service Award: Carrice Cummins


Ruth Farrar
Ulla-Britt Persson
Anne Waschuk

ILA Special Service Award: Jerry Johns

For additional information, contact