National Recognition

Elementary/Intermediate Classroom Teacher Programs

Beginning in fall 2020, ILA will offer ILA National Recognition and ILA National Recognition With Distinction of initial licensure programs for the roles of elementary/intermediate classroom teachers.

Elementary/intermediate classroom teachers are professionals responsible for teaching language and literacy to students (generally ages 7–11, though ages vary by state). These professionals may teach in either self-contained or departmentalized settings. These professionals may also be responsible for teaching content (e.g., social studies or science).

For a program to achieve recognition, it is recommended that elementary/intermediate classroom teacher candidates have the following at the conclusion of their program:

Program faculty who prepare elementary/intermediate classroom teachers are invited to examine their program using the standards and matrices delineated in Standards 2017 to determine if they meet the criteria for ILA National Recognition and ILA National Recognition With Distinction.

Elementary/intermediate classroom teacher program review consists of two stages:

Stage I: ILA National Recognition

Institutions submit a self-study that will be evaluated by a team of ILA-trained reviewers. Specific attention will be paid to how programs align with elements and rubrics identified in Standards 2017. If your self-study garners distinguished results and approval, you will receive ILA National Recognition.

Stage II: National Recognition With Distinction

Programs that have earned ILA National Recognition and garnered distinguished ratings and approval may advance to Stage II, which involves a site visit to your institution. A team of ILA-trained reviewers will be tasked with assessing your program through the dual lens of Standards 2017 and your self-study as well as conducting interviews with faculty, administrators, and current and former students.

If your program obtains an outstanding site visit review, your institution will receive ILA National Recognition With Distinction—the highest honor ILA awards to preparatory and licensure programs. Programs are reviewed in spring and fall cycles.

Questions? Please review the FAQ or contact