Literacy Daily

Latest Posts
  • Blog Posts
  • ILA News

Authors and Publishers: IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Book Award Entries Due November 1

 | Sep 04, 2012

The International Reading Association invites newly published authors of books for ages preschool to 17 to enter their first or second book into the IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Book Award competition by November 1, 2012.

Awards are given for fiction and nonfiction in each of three categories: primary, intermediate, and young adult. Books from all countries and published in English for the first time during the 2012 calendar year will be considered.

The 2013 award winners will be encouraged to attend the awards ceremony held at IRA’s 58th Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas, April 19-22, 2013.

The 2012 recipients included: Stephen Savage for Where's Walrus? from Scholastic (Primary Fiction category), Sheila O'Connor for Sparrow Road from Putnam (Intermediate Fiction category), Lucy Christopher for Flyaway from Chicken House/Scholastic (Intermediate Fiction category), Ruta Sepetys for Between Shades of Gray from Philomel (Young Adult Fiction), Jeanne Walker Harvey for My Hands Sing the Blues: Romare Bearden's Childhood Journey from Marshall Cavendish (Primary Nonfiction category), and Georgia Bragg for How They Croaked: The Awful Ends of the Awfully Famous from Walker (Young Adult Nonfiction).

Visit the IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Book Award webpage for a list of past winners, guidelines, and the application.



<a fb:like:layout="button_count" class="addthis_button_facebook_like"> <a g:plusone:size="medium" class="addthis_button_google_plusone">

IRA 2012 Research Award Recipients

Awards and Grants from the International Reading Association

Join the International Reading Association

Leave a comment

Back to Top


Recent Posts