Africa

Our affiliates in Africa form the connective strand that allows ILA to weave a broad and deep network of literacy leaders. In many cases, this network also provides a grassroots local connection for our international projects and a catalyst for activities that respond to their communities' specific needs. Many ILA activities in the region are coordinated by the International Development in Africa Committee. To contact them, email Margaret Muthiga, mmuthigaus@yahoo.com.

Contact ILA or an affiliate listed below for more information.

National Affiliates

Botswana
Botswana Reading Association
Penny Moanakwene, President
moanakwenap@gmail.com

Cameroon
Beatrice Tafon Takeh, President
bonglibea@yahoo.com
+237-677-827931

Egypt
Egyptian Association for Reading and Literacy
Dr. Fathi Ali Younis, President
m_fathi97@hotmail.com
Dr. Samia Elbassiouny, Official Contact Person
selbassiouny@hotmail.com
http://www.eqraa-edu.org

Ethiopia
Dr. Haregemoin Fantahum, President
gmoinye@gmail.com
+251-9-11-429374

Kenya
Association of Reading of Kenya
Hellen Inyega, President
hinyega@yahoo.com
Rift Valley Reading Association
Margaret Muthiga, President
mmuthigaus@yahoo.com

Liberia
Liberia Reads - Association of Literacy Educators
Henry P Wolokolie, President
hwolokolie@gmail.com

Mali
Association Internationale pour la Lecture au Mali (AIL-Mali)
Massaman Sinaba, President
omaesa@afribone.net.ml

Nigeria
Reading Association of Nigeria
Mrs. Irine Mbanefo, President
reneharles@yahoo.com

South Africa
Reading Association of South Africa (RASA)
Janet Condy , Chairperson
jcondy@mweb.co.za

Swaziland
Swaziland Reading Association
C. Hlophe, President
Gciniwe Nsibande, Membership Director
gnsibande@uniswa.sz

Tanzania
Kilimanjaro Literacy Association
Meyasi M. Mollel, President
meshilieck@gmail.com

Uganda
Reading Association of Uganda
Annette Kiberu Mpuga, President
annettempuga@yahoo.com
annettempuga@gmail.com

Arua Reading Council
Doris Maandebo Abiria, President
maandebodoris@yahoo.com

Lira Reading Council
Patrick Olwit, President
olwitpatrick_og@yahoo.com

The Reading Council of Central Uganda
Prosperous Nankindu, President
nankindu2004@yahoo.com

Zambia
Edith Ngoma, President
ENgoma@ChildFund.org

Looking for a meeting or event in your area?

The International Literacy Association showcases international, state, provincial, and ILA annual conferences on our online event calendar.

To add an event to the calendar, please send an email with your event details and contact information to literacytoday@reading.org.

ILA Council and Affiliate Directory

This council and affiliate directory is for official ILA use only. Please refrain from contacting council or affiliate presidents for solicitation and sales purposes. Individual ILA members and potential members may initiate contact with the council or affiliate president for information and networking purposes. Use of this listing for any other purpose, including, but not limited to, reproducing and storing in a retrieval system by any means electronic or mechanical, photocopying or using the names, addresses, and phone numbers for any private, commercial, or political mailing, is strictly prohibited.