ILA Updates

ILA wants to keep our stakeholders informed about the inner workings and decisions of our organization. Here are the latest announcements.

  • Jiménez and Goodwin Named New RRQ Editors

    Jul 14, 2017

    At the ILA Board meeting July 13, 2017, in Orlando, FL, the Board voted unanimously to accept the recommendation of the search committee that Robert Jiménez and Amanda Goodwin of the Peabody College of Education and Human Development at Vanderbilt University be appointed as the next editorial team for Reading Research Quarterly, ILA's leading literacy research journal. Jiménez and Goodwin will now start to transition into their new role and will begin adjudicating new manuscripts sometime in the fall. They will be taking over the helm from the current team of Linda Gambrell, Clemson University, and Susan Neuman, New York University.

  • ILA 2017 Board Election Results

    May 17, 2017

    ILA has elected Bernadette Dwyer as Vice President of the Board and Beverley E. Harris, Susan Paasch, and Julia Reynolds as new Board members-at-large for the 2017–2020 term, beginning at the ILA 2017 Conference & Exhibits in Orlando, FL, in July.

    Read more on Literacy Daily.

  • ILA 2017 Board Election Schedule

    Mar 28, 2017

    The ILA 2017 Board Election is open online through 5:00 p.m. ET on May 9, 2017, to all active individual ILA members. Results will be announced in mid-May. The newly elected Board members will begin their terms at the ILA 2017 Conference & Exhibits in Orlando, Florida, July 15–17, 2017.

  • RRQ Editor Search Committee Formed

    Jan 27, 2017

    A search committee has been formed to vet applications and recommend the best qualified applicants to the ILA Board of Directors for appointment to the next Reading Research Quarterly editorship. The members of the RRQ Editor Search Committee are as follows:

    • Timothy Shanahan (Chair), University of Illinois at Chicago
    • Adriana Bus, Leiden University, NL
    • Marcelle Haddix, Syracuse University, NY
    • Laura Justice, Ohio State University
    • Jackie Marsh, University of Sheffield, UK
    • Danny Martinez, University of California, Davis
    • Allison Skerrett, University of Texas at Austin

    Details about the search are available at

  • ILA Receives Grant to Continue Transformative Work

    Jan 27, 2017

    ILA has received a grant renewal from an anonymous donor as part of the Delaware Community Foundation’s Fund for Children’s Literacy.

    The project aims to establish Joseph M. McVey Elementary School in Newark, DE, as a literacy-forward school through professional learning opportunities for staff, whole-school reading programs coupled with author visits, and family engagement.

    The renewed and increased grant money will support continued work that began in the 2016–2017 school year and will fund the teaching staff’s attendance at the ILA 2017 Conference & Exhibits in Orlando, FL, in July 2017.

  • October 2016 Board Meeting Minutes Posted

    Oct 20, 2016

    The approved minutes of the ILA Board of Directors October 2016 meeting held at headquarters in Newark, DE, are available online here.

    Minutes of previous meetings are here, below the list of Board members.

  • Cochairs Appointed to ILA Global Task Force

    Oct 03, 2016

    Three cochairs have been selected to lead the Global Task Force charged with creating a plan to implement The Frankfurt Declaration:

    • Beryl Exley, associate professor of early childhood education at Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane, Australia
    • William Teale, president of ILA’s Board of Directors and professor, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
    • Scott Walter, executive director of CODE in Ottawa, Canada

    The Declaration, a document outlining the future of ILA’s organizational role and subsequent goals around the world, was written with global stakeholders during a two-day summit in Germany earlier this year and was reported on in detail in July’s Leaders for Literacy: Updates & Insights.

  • ILA Awards Task Force Established

    Sep 26, 2016

    The ILA Board of Directors approved an Awards Task Force to examine the ILA awards and to plan for and strategically position them with the ultimate goal of raising the prestige of all ILA awards with the profession and public. The Awards Task Force, which comprises current Board members and officers, Past Presidents, and an ILA staff liaison, will assess the current awards, prizes, and grants offered by ILA for purpose, value, and relevance, and present findings and recommendations to the Board in December 2016.

  • July 2016 Board Meeting Minutes Posted

    Sep 15, 2016

    The approved minutes of the ILA Board of Directors July 2016 meeting held in Boston, MA, are available online here.

  • ILA Board Forms Credentialing Steering Committee

    Sep 15, 2016

    In early 2016, ILA commissioned a study to explore the market feasibility of developing credentials for school-based literacy professionals. The study showed potential for development of a literacy coach credential, and in July the ILA Board of Directors approved funding to conduct additional analysis.

    A new, Board-appointed Credentialing Steering Committee will liaise with the Board, appoint and oversee discrete task forces, and work with ILA staff and consultants to align the program with ILA’s advocacy for professional certification based on rigorous requirements and robust preparation. The members of the Credentialing Steering Committee are

    • William Teale, Chair
    • Shannon Fortner, Staff Liaison
    • Gwynne Ash
    • Diane Barone
    • Rita Bean
    • Jean-Claude Brizard
    • Laurie Elish-Piper
    • Nancy Gannon
    • Diane Kern
    • Stephen Peters
    • Vicki Risko
    • Jackie Wilson
  • Diane Lapp Named Literacy Research Panel Chair

    Sep 13, 2016

    Diane Lapp, Distinguished Professor of Education at San Diego State University, has been appointed chair of ILA’s Literacy Research Panel, effective August 2016. She takes the helm from Peter Freebody, Honorary Professor at the University of Sydney and the University of Wollongong, who stepped down at the end of July.

  • Board of Directors Approves Immediate Past President Position

    Sep 13, 2016

    At its most recent meeting, the ILA Board of Directors approved the position of Immediate Past President as a voting member of the Board in the spirit of providing consistency in leadership and institutional knowledge.

Read more about ILA on the About Us page, on the Our Team page, and on the Literacy Daily blog.