

PressRELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

press@reading.org

LINNEA EHRI RECEIVES WILLIAM S. GRAY CITATION OF MERIT *Renowned educational psychology researcher among recipients of ILA's* 2022 awards and grants program

NEWARK, Del. (July 5, 2022) — The International Literacy Association (ILA) announced today the winners of its 2022 awards and grants, including its top honor and one of the literacy field's most prestigious—the William S. Gray Citation of Merit—which was awarded to City University of New York's Linnea Ehri.

The William S. Gray Citation of Merit honors a nationally or internationally known individual for their outstanding contributions to multiple facets of literacy development, including research, theory, practice and policy. Past recipients have included P. David Pearson, Steve Graham, Nell K. Duke and Jeanne Chall.

Ehri, a longtime member of ILA, is a distinguished professor emerita of educational psychology at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York (CUNY). Her groundbreaking research centers on reading acquisition processes, phonemic awareness in word reading and spelling, characteristics of phonemic awareness instruction, the impact of literacy on language processes, and the causes, prevention and remediation of reading difficulties. Her findings on the importance of grapheme-phoneme knowledge, phonemic awareness, decoding skills and orthographic mapping have greatly contributed to today's understandings about psychology processes and sources of difficulty in learning to read and spell.

"I was surprised and felt very honored to join the ranks of highly accomplished scholars in receiving the William S. Gray Citation of Merit award," Ehri said. "Gray's stage-based portrayal of the development of reading ability is an important forerunner of approaches such as mine. As one of many researchers who use a scientific approach to understand how reading skill develops, much like Gray's work on assessment, it is especially gratifying to have the significance of our contributions recognized."

Ehri is a fellow of the American Psychological Association and the American Educational Research Association. She was inducted into the Reading Hall of Fame in 1998, served on the National Reading Panel and was president of the Society for the Scientific Study of Reading (SSSR). She has published more than 130 research papers in books and scholarly journals, edited two books and served on editorial boards of 11 scientific journals, including ILA's Reading Research Quarterly.

"Ehri's meticulous research over decades has profoundly influenced the field of literacy education, particularly our understanding of how young children learn to read, spell and learn the meanings of words," said Nell K. Duke, chair of the William S. Gray Citation of Merit Award Committee. "Her research has a deep relevance to practice. She addresses questions that are on the minds of educators and curriculum designers. Numerous programs, interventions and curricula that have been informed by Ehri's work."

Joining Ehri in this year's ILA awards and grants program are 10 other educators and literacy leaders, including Alida Hudson, Texas A&M University, who received the Timothy & Cynthia Shanahan Outstanding Dissertation Award for her dissertation, "Upper Elementary Teachers' Knowledge of Reading Comprehension, Classroom Practice, and Students' Performance in Reading Comprehension."

The other award recipients include

- Melanie Collins, Literacy Association of Tennessee | Maryann Manning Special Service Award
- Allison Swan Dagen, West Virginia University | Leaders Inspiring Readers Award
- Amanda C. Dahl, Georgia State University | Steven A. Stahl Research Grant
- Brittany Finch, Michigan State University | Jeanne S. Chall Research Fellowship
- Gary E. Bingham, Georgia State University, and Hope K. Gerde, Texas A&M University | Diane Lapp & James Flood Professional Collaborator Award
- Mary-Claire Ball, Erin Curran, Fabrice Tanoh, Hermann Akpé, Shakhlo Nematova and Kaja K. Jasińska, University of Toronto; and Seung-Hee Claire Son, Kirsten R. Butcher and Lauren Aimonette Liang, University of Utah | Dina Feitelson Research Award
- Tanya S. Wright, Michigan State University | Jerry Johns Outstanding Teacher Educator in Reading Award

More information on ILA's awards and grants can be found here.

About the International Literacy Association

The International Literacy Association (ILA) is a professional membership organization of literacy educators, researchers and experts spanning 112 countries. For more than 65 years, ILA has set the standard for how literacy is defined, taught and evaluated, connecting research and practice to improve the quality of literacy learning across the globe. Through its Standards for the Preparation of Literacy Professionals, ILA provides an evidence-based benchmark for the development and evaluation of literacy professional preparation programs. ILA collaborates with partners across the world to develop, gather and disseminate high-quality resources, which include three peer-reviewed and edited journals—*The Reading Teacher, Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy* and *Reading Research Quarterly*. Learn more at <u>literacyworldwide.org</u>.

###