30 Under 30

ILA's 30 Under 30 list celebrates the rising innovators, disruptors, and visionaries in the literacy field.

These educators, researchers, and advocates represent some of the best and brightest emerging leaders working to achieve our collective mission: literacy for all.

Read about our 2021 class of 30 Under 30 honorees.

2021-ILA30under30-Andrea-Liao 2021-ILA30under30-Enwongo-Abasi-Francis 2021-ILA30under30-Jigyasa-Labroo 2021-ILA30under30-Jimmie-Chengo 2021-ILA30under30-Josephine-Lichaha 2021-ILA30under30-Kelsey-Reynolds 2021-ILA30under30-Mahdi-Housaini 2021-ILA30under30-Mari-Sawa 2021-ILA30under30-Cedric-Christian-Elongue 2021-ILA30under30-Erin-O'Neil 2021-ILA30under30-Patrick-Harris 2021-ILA30under30-Rebecca-Quinones 2021-ILA30under30-Roman-Lay 2021-ILA30under30-Ryan-Brady 2021-ILA30under30-Saurabh-Anand 2021-ILA30under30-Seth-French 2021-ILA30under30-Austin-Martin 2021-ILA30under30-Ondrej-Kania 2021-ILA30under30-Tien-Hao-Yen 2021-ILA30under30-Tiyana-Herring 2021-ILA30under30-Tori-Hill 2021-ILA30under30-Zachery-Ramos 2021-ILA30under30-Olivia-Van-Ledtje 2021-ILA30under30-Dwayne-Reed 2021-ILA30under30-Anna-Bjork 2021-ILA30under30-Havana-Chapman-Edwards 2021-ILA30under30-Shayla-Glass-Thompson 2021-ILA30under30-Simpson-Muhwezi 2021-ILA30under30-Akash-Patel 2021-ILA30under30-Candace-Chambers

Nominate a literacy champion

ILA’s 30 Under 30 list is released biennially and nominations are accepted on a rolling basis. However, to be considered for the 2023 list, nominations must be submitted by June 30, 2022. Submit a nomination for yourself or a colleague here.

Honorees on the 2023 list will be announced in the January/February/March 2023 issue of Literacy Today and will be promoted across ILA's platforms. Each honoree receives a complimentary one-year ILA membership, is recognized at an ILA event, and joins a dynamic network of literacy leaders.

30 Under 30 honorees become important members of the ILA family. Past recipients have served as General Session speakers as well as session presenters and moderators at our conference. They have written extensively through our publishing platforms, volunteered for task forces, and become valuable members of local chapters and affiliates.


Prior lists

Click below to read about past 30 Under 30 honorees.



Note: The program moved to a biennial schedule starting with the 2019 list.


Keeping up with 30 Under 30

We continue to highlight the work of our 30 Under 30 recipients beyond the release of each list. Check out what some past honorees have been up to: