Awards & Grants

Exemplary Reading Program Award

The Exemplary Reading Program Award recognizes outstanding reading and language arts programs at all grade levels (elementary, middle, and high school). Its purpose is to call the public's attention to outstanding programs in schools throughout Canada and the United States. Each participating state and provincial council, with an active ERPA committee chair, may choose one winning school a year.

All public, private, charter, and parochial schools in the United States and Canada are eligible for the award provided

  • The state or province in which the school is located has an Exemplary Reading Program Award Committee currently in place to judge program applications from that state or province
  • At least one faculty or staff member of that school is a current ILA member

Deadline: December 15


For additional information, contact Chapter and Region Services.

2021–2022 State/Provincial ERPA Chairs

Alabama Literacy Association - Lorie Johnson
Arkansas Literacy Association - Angela Betancourt
Illinois Reading Council - Janel Sebeny
Keystone State Literacy Association - Michael Williams
Literacy Association of Tennessee - Randall Kincaid
Louisiana Reading Association - Edward Brown
North Dakota Literacy Council - Christy Smith
Nebraska State Reading Association - Julie Agard
Palmetto State Literacy Association (SC) - Melanie Guill
South Dakota Literacy Association - Kristine Gillette
State of Maryland Literacy Association (SoMLA) - Sandy Keaton
Utah Literacy Association - Deanna Mower
Virginia State Reading Association - Charles Richards