Alpha Upsilon Alpha

Alpha Upsilon Alpha, the honor society of the International Literacy Association, was created in 1985 to recognize and encourage scholarship, the development of personal and professional leadership, and service to the field of reading at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

The Greek letters chosen for this honor society are significant: They come from the words Anagnosis (reading), Upotrophia (scholarship), and Archon (leadership). The society motto, which is attributed to Horace, says it all: "Lege sapere aude," or "Read, dare to be wise."

Alpha Upsilon Alpha

Membership in Alpha Upsilon Alpha brings a sense of scholarly accomplishment in the field of reading and language arts. Members are acknowledged for having excelled in their chose field of study, and are recognized as professionals committed to the importance of reading and language arts in education.

An individual may become a member of the honor society by applying to or being nominated by the screening committee of an Alpha Upsilon Alpha chapter. There are two membership categories: undergraduate/graduate and faculty/alumni.

Active AUA chapters

Alpha - University of Northern Iowa (IA)
Alpha Delta - Northern Illinois University (IL)
Alpha Delta Alpha - Hofstra University (NY)
Alpha Epsilon Chi - Judson University (IL)
Alpha Gamma - Georgia State University (GA)
Alpha Iota - Buffalo State College (NY)
Alpha Lambda - Troy State University, Dothan (AL)
Alpha Pi - Framingham State University (MA)
Alpha Psi Chapter - Widener University (PA)
Alpha Sigma - Fayetteville State University (NC)
Alpha Xi - Providence College (RI)
Beta Beta - Arizona State University (AZ)
Beta Delta - North Greenville University (SC)
Beta Iota - Fordham University (NY)
Beta Pi - Monmouth University (NJ)
Beta Rho - Florida Memorial University (FL)
Beta Zeta - Weber State University (UT)
Epsilon - West Chester University (PA)
Eta - Murray State University (KY)