RRQ Search Committee Selects New Editorial Team

June 7, 2022

Margaret Hagood, director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning at the College of Charleston, South Carolina, chaired the committee tasked with identifying a new editorial team for Reading Research Quarterly (RRQ), ILA’s flagship journal.

The search committee also included

  • Marcus Croom, Assistant Professor, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Fiona Maine, Associate Professor, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Raúl Alberto Mora, Associate Professor, Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana, Colombia
  • Seth Parsons, Professor, George Mason University, Virginia
  • Mia Perry, Senior Lecturer, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Jon Wargo, Assistant Professor, Boston College, Massachusetts

Danielle Dennis served as the ILA Board liaison to the search committee, with Becky Fetterolf supplying staff support.

“As a member of the ILA Board of Directors and chair of the Publications Committee, I wish to acknowledge the outstanding, thoughtful, and intelligent deliberations of the RRQ Editorial Team Search Committee,” Dennis said. “The members of this committee held true to their charge and aligned their decisions with the mission and vision of the organization.”

The process led to the selection of a four-person team of researchers representing four countries:

  • Jennifer Rowsell, Professor and Deputy Head of School, School of Education, University of Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Christian Ehret, Associate Professor, Integrated Studies in Education, McGill University, Canada
  • Natalia Kucirkova, Professor, Norwegian Centre for Learning Environment and Behavioural Research in Education, University of Stavanger, Norway
  • Cheryl A. McLean, Associate Professor, Rutgers Graduate School of Education, New Jersey, United States

Rowsell and colleagues begin their four-year term on July 1, 2022.