Note: To purchase the PDF version of Standards 2010, click here.

Standards 2010 has been updated as of Spring 2018. To purchase a copy of Standards 2017, click here. The Standards 2017 FAQ can be found here.

Standards 2010: Committee and Acknowledgments

The International Reading Association would like to thank the following members of the Standards 2010 Committee for their work on this document.

Rita M. Bean (chair)
University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jacqueline C. Karbon
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Milwaukee
Maryann M. Manning (Board liaison)
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
Diane Kern
University of Rhode Island, Kingston
Cathy Roller
International Reading Association, Newark, Delaware
Barbara Laster
Towson University, Maryland
Jennifer L. Altieri
The Citadel, Charleston, South Carolina
Evan B. Lefsky
Lake County Schools, Tavares, Florida
Marino C. Alvarez
Tennessee State University, Nashville
Debra A. Miller
McDaniel College, Westminster, Maryland
Betsy Baker-Rall
Parkade Elementary School, Columbia, Missouri
Lesley Mandel Morrow
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick
Camille L. Blachowicz
National-Louis University, Chicago, Illinois
Victoria J. Risko
Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee
Deborah E. Bordelon
Governors State University, University Park, Illinois
Kathleen Roskos
John Carroll University, University Heights, Ohio
Jack Cassidy
Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
Michael L. Shaw
St. Thomas Aquinas College, Sparkill, New York
Darion M. Griffin
American Federation of Teachers, Washington, DC
Allison Skerrett
University of Texas, Austin
James V. Hoffman
University of Texas, Austin
William Earl Smith
Ohio University, Athens
Laveria F. Hutchison
University of Houston, Texas
Dorothy S. Strickland
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick
Barbara A. Kapinus
National Education Association, Washington, DC
Alfred W. Tatum
University of Illinois at Chicago
  Corinne C. Valdez
Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi


Standards for Reading Professionals—Revised 2010 was developed by the representative Standards 2010 Committee, appointed by the International Reading Association (IRA) to revise the 2003 document. Committee members represented many different institutions, regions of the country, and views about the roles and responsibilities of literacy professionals.

The Committee worked tirelessly for three years, debating various issues about the roles of literacy professions. They agreed—and disagreed—but as reflected in a variation of a Japanese proverb, “None of us is as strong as all of us,” they were able to come to a consensus that resulted in this document. We acknowledge and thank the Committee members for their contributions to this 2010 revision. We also want to recognize the special efforts of those who served as chairs of the subcommittees: Kathy Roskos (John Carroll University, Ohio), Diane Kern (University of Rhode Island), Debra Miller (McDaniel College, Maryland), James Hoffman (University of Texas), Betsy Baker-Rall from Missouri, and Evan Lefsky (Lake County Schools, Florida).

Special appreciation is extended also to the following individuals:

  • Cathy Roller, former Director of Research, IRA, for her leadership during this process
  • Gail Keating, Projects Manager, Research and Professional Development, IRA, for facilitating the work of the committee, her attention to detail, asking the important questions, and her diligence in making certain that the document reflected the decisions made by the Committee
  • Rita Bean, University of Pittsburgh, for chairing the Committee and facilitating meetings that provided opportunities for all voices to be heard

Finally, we express our gratitude to the many literacy professionals and groups who provided important feedback to the Committee by attending sessions at the IRA conferences, responding to the drafts of the Standards on the IRA website, and talking with Committee members informally. The Committee sought to reflect the many voices, interests, and concerns of our constituents and produce a document that will assist in preparing reading professionals for the schools of today and tomorrow.