Literacy Now

Latest Posts
ILA Online Learning On Demand
ILA Online Learning On Demand
ILA National Recognition
ILA resource collections
Join ILA Today
ILA National Recognition
ILA resource collections
Join ILA Today
  • Blog Posts
  • Conferences & Events

ILA Awards Honor Making a Difference in Literacy

by Colleen Patrice Clark
 | Jul 20, 2015

ILA Awards 2015The International Literacy Association celebrated achievements in literacy instruction and research on Sunday afternoon during the ILA Awards Ceremony, part of the ILA 2015 Conference in St. Louis, MO.

With Master of Ceremonies Steven L. Layne at the mic along with an all-star cast of literacy leaders to help present the awards, the crowd celebrated ILA members and councils who are making an impact in their schools and communities and are helping to spread the message and mission of ILA.

The special guest presenters included: ILA Board Members Bernadette Dwyer and Douglas Fisher; writers and poets Sara Holbrook and Michael Salinger; teacher educator Linda Hoyt; Lynn Walker of myON; teacher advocates and authors Penny Kittle and Kelly Gallagher; and ILA Council Advisors Angela Rivell and Tiffany Sears.

“Tonight, you see, you made all the difference by joining us to honor those who have achieved recognition for their devotion to schools, to students, and to the profession,” said Layne, an author, professor at Judson University in Illinois, and former ILA board member.

The recipients of the 2015 awards were:

Arbuthnot Award
Patricia Austin, University of New Orleans, Louisiana

Technology and Reading Awards
Libby Curran, Richards Elementary School, Newport, NH, for Reading Train: Learn To Read Books, Songs & Games
Carolyn Fortuna, Franklin High School, Franklin, MA, for Reading Meets a 1:1 Digital Environment in Senior High School English

Jerry Johns Outstanding Teacher Educator in Reading Award
Theresa A. Deeney, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, RI

Outstanding Dissertation of the Year
Meghan Liebfreund, Towson University, Towson, MD; completed dissertation from North Carolina State University for Success with Informational Text Comprehension: An Examination of Underlying Factors

Special Service Award
Carrice Cummins, ILA Past President and Endowed Professor of Education at Louisiana Tech University, Monroe, LA

William S. Gray Citation of Merit
Jerry Johns, Sycamore, IL

Legends in Literacy Awards, in partnership with myON
Frances Gonzalez-Garcia, Reading Specialist, Northside ISD, TX
Gainesville City Schools Learning Support Team, Gainesville, GA

ILA Advocacy Award

  • Illinois Reading Council, Cindy Gerwin, President
  • Kentucky Reading Association, Laurie Henry, President
  • Keystone State Reading Association, Julie Wise, President
  • Louisiana Reading Association, Brandi McNabb, President
  • Wisconsin State Reading Association, Kathy Galvin, President
  • Virginia State Reading Association, Kim Lancaster, President

ILA Exemplary Reading Program Award

  • E. R. Dickson Elementary School, Mobile, AL
  • Greenbrier Westside Elementary School, Greenbrier, AR
  • Granville Elementary School, Prescott Valley, AZ
  • Ross School, Ross, CA
  • Dillon Valley Elementary School, Dillon, CO
  • Prairie Heights Elementary School, LaGrange, IN
  • Hahnville High School, Boutte, LA
  • Fricano Primary School, Lockport, NY 
  • Four Rivers Community School, Ontario, OR 
  • Springfield Literacy Center, Springfield, PA 
  • New Prospect Elementary, Inman, SC 
  • Howard Elementary School, Howard, WI

Click here for more information about ILA awards.

Colleen Patrice Clark Colleen Patrice Clark is the editor of Literacy Today ,ILA’s member magazine.

Back to Top


Recent Posts